Jerzy Stuhr

Jerzy Stuhr born. in 1947 in Cracow. Film and theater actor, professor of art and director. He graduated from the Polish Studies at the Jagiellonian University and Acting Department of the State Higher School of Theatre in Krakow. His work as an actor began in the Old Theatre in Krakow. Known to the general public in Poland became known in the mid-seventies as a co-host along with Boguslaw Sobczukiem TV series Meeting with the Ballade. In 1990-1996 and 2002-2008 he was rector of the Academy of Dramatic Arts in Krakow. In 2006 he became a member of the program board of the Center for National Creativity. He is also chairman of the Father Jozef Tischner Foundation of the Krakow Hospice for Children. He supports the oganization since 2004. He received the title of professor in 1994. He created many outstanding theatrical roles, including Double bass player in "The Double Bass" by Süskind, Secretary in "Résumé" by Kieslowski, Peter Verkhovensky in "Possessed" by Dostoevsky, Peter Wysocki in "November Night"  by Wyspiański, AA in "Emigrants" by Mrozek, Mayor in "The Government Inspector" by Gogol, Porfiry in "Crimes and punishment " by Dostoevsky, King Richard in "Richard III" by Shakespeare in People's Theatre in Krakow and film roles, of which the most famous are: Maximilian Paradys in "Sexmission", John Piszczyk in "Citizen Piszczyku" Lutek Danielak in "Wodzireju" Adam Borowski in the "Week in the life of man," and many others. He has also work as a director: "Pageant", "Tomorrow's Weather", "Big Animal", "A Week in the Life of a Man", "Love Stories", "List of Adulteresses", "Richard III". Jerzy Sztur lends voice to animated films portraying the famous cartoon characters such as "Shrek" whether Gargamel in "Smurfs". He is also the author of books and winner of many awards and honors. In 1997, he was awarded the Commander's Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta in recognition of his outstanding contribution to national culture, in 2005, awarded the Gold Medal of the "Merit for culture Gloria Artis", in 2011, awarded the Commander's Cross with Star of the Order of Polonia Restituta for outstanding contribution to Polish culture, for achievements in artistic and pedagogical activity, and in 2012 the award "Honoris Gratia".